My Bipolar Book List

The Harrow

In the interest of full disclosure, I just did a stint at a psychiatric facility due to a recent manic episode. For anyone who has ever been there, you know that there is very little that you’re allowed to do. Every minute of your day is scheduled and every bit of control is stripped from you for the seventy two or more hours that they decide to keep you there. Its slightly dehumanizing. Between group therapy, one on one appointments with a therapist, and regularly scheduled meal breaks, one of the only places to find solace is in books.

I checked myself in, so I was able to prepare a bag of supplies that would see me through. This wasn’t my first rodeo. In that four day period, I read three books. My suggestion in these situations is to read things that are funny and inspiring. I would love to…

View original post 588 more words

Leave a Reply

